To make changes to published forms, go to Forms > your form, and choose Edit in the build page.
If you’re on an Enterprise plan, editing won't change your published form. Instead, it creates a new version. If you publish this draft version, it replaces the previously published form.
You can see version information in the Forms screen.
And in the forms History tab.
Almost all form settings are versioned along with form.
For example, if you change the thank you message while working on version 3 of a form, this change will go live when you publish version 3. It won't effect previously published versions.
But some settings don’t get versioned. Changing these has an immediate effect on currently published forms. Read on to see what changes are immediate.
Changes that go live right away
Most settings available in the form builder are versioned and only go live when you publish a new draft.
The following settings are different, and go live as soon as you make and confirm changes.
- Max number of responses / Message to show user when response limit is reached (Settings > Responses > Limit number of responses)
- Auto reminder email template and settings (Responses > Manage saved responses)
- Author and Reporter permissions (Settings > Permissions)
- Deactivation date (via the History tab)
All settings in the Admin area (like the colors of themes or the contents of field sets) take effect immediately.
If you change the colors in a theme, for example, forms using that theme will reflect that change straight away. Be careful when changing items like field sets that affect the content of your forms, these will impact the consistency of the responses you get.
Other things you might want to know
The link and embed code for your form will never change.
When you test your form, we send a link to your chosen email address. This link will work for 30 days, no matter how many versions of your form you create in that time. We’ll always load the most recent version so you’re testing the latest and greatest.
When viewing a response that was received for an old version of the form, the data will be in the format of that old version, even if the form fields and sections have changed since then.
For more on form versioning, see Create a form, Test and publish your form, and View or restore an old version of a form.