We noticed that JavaScript is disabled in your browser. We suggest enabling it for a better experience.
We noticed you're using an older version of Internet Explorer. We suggest you update to the latest version for a better experience.
Skip to main content

Manage Users in the Admin Area

This is an Admin task. 

Go to Admin > Users to see a full list of the users in your organization.

Here you can:

  • Create new users.
  • Edit, deactivate, or delete the accounts of any users that are not managed by external systems.
  • Disable 2-step verification for users.
  • Export a list of users.
  • Use the search bar to Search for a user.
  • Filter the list using the Select flag drop-down menu. You can filter to users that are Awaiting verification, Locked out, have an Expired password, or are Deactivated.
  • Filter the list by user roles using the All roles drop-down menu.
  • Reorder the list by User name or Last login. By default the list is ordered alphabetically by the user's name.
The users management screen in Admin

Add a User

If your organization uses an external system to manage users, you should check with an Account owner before creating new users in the admin area. 

To add a user:

  1. Go to Admin > Users.

  2. Select Create user.

  3. Enter the Basic details.

  4. Use Permissions to select their role. You can select multiple roles for one user, such as Author and Reviewer. Some roles, like Account owners and Admins, contain multiple roles by default. 

    role permission check boxes 
    Only Account owners can create other Account owners.
  5. Set their notification settings. They’ll be able to change these themselves later.

  6. Select Create.

Your new user will be sent an email with a link for them to set their password. Once they’ve done this, they’ll be able to log in. If you need to, you can select Send verification email again from the ... menu in the Users list. Passwords must be a minimum of 12 characters and contain at least one of each of the following:

  • Uppercase letter (A-Z)
  • Lowercase letter (a-z)
  • Number (0-9)
  • Symbol (`~!@#$%^&*()-_=+[]{}|\;:'",.<>/? )

You cannot use one of your last four passwords. Passwords for local users will expire every 90 days unless they are using multi-factor authentication. Users will receive reminder emails starting from 7 days prior to the password expiry and after the password expires users will be prompted to reset their password when they next log in.

Edit a User

  1. Find the right user, and select Edit from the ... menu.

    The edit button is in the three dots menu next to each user
  2. Change the user’s Basic details, Permissions or Notifications. 

    Only Account owners can assign other users the Account owner role.
    The edit user details screen
  3. Select Save changes.

Deactivate a User

Deactivating a user will disable their user account. You or another admin can reactivate it whenever you want.

  1. Find the right user, and select Deactivate from the ... menu.

    select the deactivate option in the three dots menu
  2. In the popup window, choose Deactivate user to confirm.

See a list of the users you’ve deactivated under Deactivated users.

Only Account owners can deactivate other Account owners, and you cannot deactivate your organization's last Account owner; you must make another user an Account owner beforehand.

Reactivate a User

To restore an account that’s been deactivated:

  1. Go to Admin > Users and use the Select flag drop-down menu to select Deactivated.
    use the select flag menu to select deactivated
  2. Use the ... menu to select Reactivate.
    the reactivate user option in the three dots menu
  3. Review their user details and select the Reactivate user button. They’ll be sent an email with a link for them to set a new password.

Delete a User

Delete a user to remove their account completely.

  1. Go to Admin > Users and select Delete from the ... menu for that user.
  2. In the pop-up window, type DELETE into the confirmation field.
  3. Select Delete user.

Disable 2-step Verification

Account Owners and Admins can disable multi-factor authentication on behalf of other users.

  1. Find the correct user and use the ... menu to select Disable 2-step verification.
    the disable 2-step verification option in the three dots menu
  2. Select OK in the confirmation pop-up box.

What's Next?

Was this helpful?